The exciting life og –
God, I can’t even spell “of” correctly.

Why I married Firefox.

Now.. I’ve been having issues with my computer for a bit now.

Mostly ever since I’ve installed Adobe CS3. (…And last night I got an email from Adobe saying “There’s a new version, go spend your money”)

My issues were there:

1. I was getting sick of outlook, I’d get a copy on my phone and a copy in outlook. This was annoying because they were not in sync. So I’d have to go back and fourth deleting/marking everything read/unread.

2. Ever since I’ve installed the Cooliris (aka PicLens) Plugin for Firefox, Vista began thinking that firefox is a freaking game. This meant that my mouse driver would switch modes into “GAME” each time I had firefox open. This resulted in a really slow cursor and disabled buttons on my mouse.

I have a 9 button mouse (MX510). yes, 9 buttons. two of those buttons are for scrolling up and down. but since I have a scroll wheel and a middle button for scrolling, I’ve remapped the two scrolling buttons to minimize and close the “selected application”. In short, that means I never touch the x‘s _‘s and … I don’t know how to make that square Maximize icon, as I can do this from my mouse. It’s faster.

3. More about mail.. I’m actively using 5 accounts. Two of which I actually care about. All five go to my phone, but my yahoo account is on the internet only, while my Gmail is in outlook. Yahoo would ask for me to type the user/password every damned time and would not autosave the user/pass. Fvcking annoying. Same with facebook.

4. I was sick of Gmail’s skin, the lay out.. etc. I just couldn’t stand it (which is why I had it in Outlook).

5. I don’t remember five.

Solutions;

(Note: Links to Extensions are at the bottom)

1. Since my phone supports imap, I thought I’d set it up as an imap account. I did. but outlook was a faggot and didn’t want to take imap as an answer.

Solution: use Gmail’s service. Forget Outlook.

2. If you don’t know what cooliris is; http://www.cooliris.com  Go there, and install it. At first it looks as bad as Joost, but once I’ve tried it out, i was amazed. Hell… I’ve even installed this on my mother’s firefox installation. She uses it more than i do. You get a 3d wall of pics and vids of whatever you search for. So far it has youtube, deviant art, flickr, google, and a few others… about 10 for the time being. It’s fun, and it’s fast. and If I’m saying this, then it’s true. I’m on a 2004 machine.. and it runs smoothly even with 942342 things in the background.

This thing made windows think firefox is a game, however. And I’ve lost the buttons I’ve mentioned.

I went to Logitech’s site.. looked up my model’s drivers.. “Lol YOU DON’T NEED THEM UR ON VISTA ITS PLAG AN PLAI” was what i got.

After trying about 30 different apps that would remap my mouse, I got fed up and looked up the drivers for the MX518. not the MX510, that I have. It had this thing called “SETPOINT” so I’ve downloaded, installed, rinsed, repeated.

and the soft was my mouse as a 510, and everything worked fine. Logitech, I’m still not over it.

why wasn’t this in the drivers for MY mouse? That’s not very Logical .

..see what I did there? Har har har..

jerks. I’ve played with set point and configured it all the way i wanted it to be. Now i even have a button on my mouse for flip3d. 😀

It all works out.

3. Firefox, what can’t you do… My issue was multiple mail accounts and having to sign in/check each one manually. Fvck. That.

While looking for the Cooliris plugin, I ran into something called WebMail Notifier. I was always fond of having an outlook icon in my task bar indicating there’s unread mail. this did the same thing. Only it did it within firefox.

I installed it.

turns out it not only notifies you of multiple accounts, it also links you to their respective inboxes directly AND logs in for you. I was in love. It even played the “new mail” sound and showed a balloon thing that trillian shows when you get new mail!

and it checks all accounts every minute…!

I can’t get over that.

As for Facebook, There’s a plug in called Boost for facebook. This thing logs into facebook for you, lets you skin the pages, blow up pictures without opening a new tab, and tons more.

4. Gmail was still as pale as me. Looking through more plugins, I found “Better Gmail” This thing adds new features, eh.. some crap. but I use it for skinning my webmail client. looks awesome, easier to use, actually.

5. I didn’t have a five.

At the end of the day, my issues went away. including the “COM SURROGATE” error I’d get every time I had a video file in sight… that wasn’t Firefox, though. That was iTunes. But reinstalling CCCP (codec pack) did the job.

And my system doesn’t lag, either. I’m happy. I need to go out more.

Here are the plugins I’m using:

Adblock Plus – Because I rage when I see ads.

Better Gmail 2 – Skin, change layout, and add features to gmail. I only wish they had a “Better Yahoo!”… one day..

Boost for Facebook – More features, auto login, Skins.

PicLens – Freaking amazing.

WebMail Notifier – Even if you have no need for this, but use webbased email (not clients) ..you should try it.

Wikipedia Lookup Extension – I use Wiki a lot. I just prefer to keep my searchbar set on google, and I don’t really like opening new tabs. This plugin lets you highlight a word with your cursor, righ click it and pick “search with wiki”. phrases work too. It opens in a new tab, so you don’t lose your place.

….it just hit me that all of these things are called Addons/Extensions. not “plugins”. Plugins are different.

No Responses to “Why I married Firefox.”

Leave a Reply

